STARK vs Fitbod: which workout app should you choose?
STARK and Fitbod compared feature by feature: the free version, the tools that help you during the session, programs, Apple Watch and price.
Updated October 15, 2026 · Written by the STARK team. We make STARK; Fitbod details come from its App Store listing and public pages.
Short answer: STARK comes out ahead on 12 of the 18 points compared, Fitbod on 1, and they are level on the other 5. Fitbod generates every session with AI, but it has no lasting free plan, is not available in French and costs around five times more than STARK. STARK gives you 1,394 exercises, 30+ programs, warm-ups, plates and next loads, a friends feed and your full history for free.
Feature by feature
| Feature | STARK | Fitbod |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan: workout history | Full history | No permanent free plan (trial) |
| Exercise library | 1,394 exercises with video | 1,000+ exercises with video |
| Ready-made programs | 30+ (PPL, upper/lower, full body, 5×5…) | AI-generated plan |
| Warm-up sets suggested | ✓ | Not stated |
| Plate calculator | ✓ | Not stated |
| Next load suggested | ✓ | ✓ |
| Weekly review per muscle group | ✓ | Muscle recovery |
| Supersets and drop sets | ✓ | Not stated |
| HIIT, WOD and AMRAP sessions | ✓ | Not stated |
| Body weight and progress photos | Free | Not stated |
| Friends and activity feed | ✓ | None in the app |
| Apple Watch | ✓ | ✓ |
| Apple Health | ✓ | ✓ |
| Available in French | ✓ | No (EN, ES, PT) |
| Use without an account | ✓ | Not stated |
| Android | Not yet | Yes |
| Paid plan, monthly | €2.99 | €13.49 to €17.99 |
| Paid plan, yearly | €29.99 | €81.99 to €99.99 |
Green rows: STARK offers more; grey rows: Fitbod offers more. “Not stated” means Fitbod does not mention it on its App Store listing or public pages. Prices from the French App Store, October 2026.
What really makes the difference
The real question is price and control. Fitbod charges €13.49 to €17.99 a month for generated workouts; STARK is free for the essentials and €2.99 a month for Premium, with structured programs you can follow and adjust, and suggested loads to progress session after session.
During the session: STARK does more of the thinking
- Warm-up suggested before your first heavy sets.
- Plates calculated: you see which discs to load on each side.
- Next load suggested from your previous sessions.
- Last weights in view on every set, with rest timers on iPhone and Apple Watch.
When Fitbod is a good choice
Fitbod makes sense if you never want to plan anything and are happy to let an algorithm decide every session, in English, at €80 to €100 a year. It also runs on Android.
Try STARK at your next workout
Free, with your full history, on iPhone and Apple Watch.
Frequently asked questions
Is STARK better than Fitbod?
STARK comes out ahead on 12 of the 18 points compared, Fitbod on 1, and they are level on the other 5. Fitbod generates every session with AI, but it has no lasting free plan, is not available in French and costs around five times more than STARK. STARK gives you 1,394 exercises, 30+ programs, warm-ups, plates and next loads, a friends feed and your full history for free.
Is STARK free?
Yes. You log unlimited workouts and keep your full history for free. STARK Premium (€2.99 a month or €29.99 a year) adds more programs and long-period statistics.
Can I switch from Fitbod to STARK?
Yes. Install STARK, pick a program or rebuild your routine, and log your next sets straight away. STARK can also import a workout history in JSON.
Is STARK on Android?
Not yet. STARK is available on iPhone with Apple Watch.